Fantasy Team Names: The Lost Art

As a Fantasy Sports aficionado, I take great pride in my team name every year.  I strive to make them funny, dumb or some combination of the two, most involving a play on words.  With Fantasy Baseball having come to a close, and Fantasy Football just starting to heat up, I thought I’d share some of my former team names as well as a few favorites of mine I’ve seen over the years.

My Baseball Teams:

  • Bunt Cakes
  • Fenway Franconas
  • You Son of a Pitch!
  • Hannibal Lester
  • Shack of All Trades

My Football Teams:

  • Necessary Roughness
  • Go Faulk Yourself
  • Brady Gaga
  • The Boston Mossacre
  • The Big Gronkowski

Here are some of my favorites I’ve seen out there:

  • Somewhere Over Dwayne Bowe
  • Burressted Development
  • Oh My God, They Killed Henne!
  • Revis and Butthead

In the spirit of fantasy sports, here’s an older clip from The League, which premieres this week.  Anyone who has won their league championship knows this feeling of elation.  As you can tell from the amount of time I put into coming up with dumb team names, I know it all too well.

 

 

About david

Co-Founder, Spogo

Leave a Reply

